iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

A proud Timberframer

Started by sawinmontana, April 29, 2003, 09:34:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sawinmontana

This is my first try at posting pictures. If it works I have several more.
This is my brother Russ showing the first joint we cut.

Greg

Very cool pic! Keep em comin'...

You have every right to be proud ;-)

I am WAY jealous of all your flat rock... I was thinking about a simple, cheap alternative, like pouring six concrete piers, spaced at each corner and mid-span, about 6 inches above grade, to support sills.

I'm curious, what material are your sills?

Greg

carhartted

Thankyou sir may I have another.
Here's to making sawdust.

IndyIan

Very nice picture!  I like the stone foundation too 8)
How's the brace work for doing the peg holes?  
I was using a brace this weekend to screw on the guide boards on a log to saw with my alaskan and I don't think I'll bother to take my cordless drill into the woods again.  The brace was just as fast and hardly any work at all.   8)  And replacement batteries aren't $70!  for a brace either... :)

Did you end up cutting your beams with an alaskan?  

ohsoloco

Nice pic....SWEET foundation  ;D  I'd like to get some rock like that for my smokehouse foundation.  

sawinmontana

When I get back to the other computer I will post somemore.
The sills were 8x8 Douglas fir. I was driving a selfloading log truck at the time and located the logs, a mixture of Douglas Fir, Engleman Spruce, Alpin Fir, Western Larch, and Lodgepole Pine. He bought the load, I delivered it to my dads house, where the mill is and I milled it for him. Our mill is made is Lincoln, Montana, called montana sawmill. Its a basic manual bandmill. If we had to buy another one I would spend the extra money and buy a name brand one for the support. But thats another story.