iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Roof/Truss design for log cabin 28' X 50'

Started by calicokid, June 03, 2013, 09:50:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

calicokid

OK guys so I'm working on ideas for a truss/roof system for my cabin project.  Cabin will have a conventional floor.  Wall construction will be 150 year old 6"x12" red oak logs.   Floor plan will be 50% vaulted ceiling (exposed beam preferred) with the other half of the house an upstairs room or rooms.  With a span of 28' does anyone know what truss design I should use?  My first log construction and I have some framing experience. Want to keep a rustic look true to compliment the old hewn log construction. Expense is a concern..I have a bandsaw mill and can cut my on beams up to 17'...not certain of what species to cut them from.  Maybe someone on here has some advice, or some old timbers that I can purchase to build them from.  Any ideas would be appreciated....thank you

calicokid

forgot to mention I will use tin for the roof and some kind of wood ceiling, center-match or reclaimed pine planks or maybe cedar..  got to keep cost down..

calicokid

pitch will be 12/12 to maximize floor space on second floor.

jander3

I wanted simple and easy.  This ridge spanned 26 feet with a 4 foot overhang on each end.  I used a post on each gable and a center post in the cabin.  I didn't want to have to deal with rigging a truss.

beenthere

jon
How is the cabin in the north woods doing this summer?  Maybe the rain or that late May 2 snow has made getting to it a bit difficult.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Thehardway

calicokid,

The best and most efficient means of spanning 28' without any other concerns, is from a historical point,  a Queenpost truss.  28' is a very reasonable span for this truss design given you have access to tie beams of appropriate size.