iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Milling Oak Marine Piles

Started by Paul G, January 01, 2009, 10:55:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paul G

Happy New Year Everyone.

Fired up the new mill today and started milling up one the oak piles I brought home from work the other day. (posted some pictures in the gallery but cant get them in this post?) I didnt have much time but what came off looks real promising.
Heres the deal with the piles. I have a practically unlimited supply of them. I work as a dockbuilder in NYC and we are removing them. The company puts them on a garbage scow to get rid of them as garbage. I cut what looks good at lunch time and load them into my truck. The piles have been submerged for approximately 20 years.
I was planning on cutting them into ties but I think they may be a better grade. I dont know if they need be dried or if they will shrink. They have been dried and treated with creosote years ago. The creosote seems to have washed out.   
Any ideas and/or insight would be greatly appreciated. I am not sure what their best use will be. I'll keep you guys posted with pics & posts. Picking up another load tomorrow and milling sat and sun. Thanks.

Paul

sgschwend

If you are finding a lot of good parts, I would find out if you could take them all.  Assuming you could sell the others for firewood.

If it is too much for your setup then perhaps look for another sawmill in the area and share the wealth.   The other mill may have a large truck, that would speed the pickup and delivery.

By sharing you could pickup some good ideas on how to cut them.  I am sure most folks will be passing on the high value uses (which I would not expect RR ties to be one of them) such as flooring, reclaimed wood has a following for vintage repairs, and new construction.

good luck, let us know what is happening.
Steve Gschwend

sjgschwend@gmail.com

Dana