iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New Forestry Grad: Procurement Job opportunity

Started by Ashelle1, March 04, 2020, 04:45:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ashelle1

Good afternoon all,

Background: I am a 31 year old veteran who has recently graduated (May 19') with a B.S. in Forestry and Natural resources. I've done one internship as a technical forester, with a few weeks of procurement experience. I just completed a contract working for the department of defense to pay off a semester of student loans.
Since my contract work was coming to a close, I submitted interest in a few companies and have since received two requests to interview

After interviewing for a full time position managing spray crews around the South East (I received a job offer last week), I was given an opportunity to interview for a procurement position for a very large company. I've told the company that offered me a job that I needed to interview with another company before accepting or declining their offer. I feel a bit unprofessional, but also crummy for doing so (BREAK).

This procurement position usually requires 3+ years of procurement experience and typically a masters in business.
I have years of experience developing teams and executing projects (within the military and while working during college and during my contract work). I feel fairly confident selling myself to the gentlemen interviewing me, but I'm often concerned if:

1). Can I use this experience in communication and team building (prior experience outside forestry) to translate towards working for private land owners, working with loggers, and negotiating bids?
2). When you've interviewed veterans in the past, was there any error in translation between their experience and how it could be applied towards your company?
3). Was there something you wished a person who was qualified in many ways, but lacked the practical experience had brought up?