iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Newbie needs advice on salvaging doug fir...

Started by billyO, June 05, 2007, 08:40:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

billyO

Hello all.  I'm new to the wood cutting game, and looking for advice.  I've got a few nice sized doug fir trees on my property (about 18-20" dia at thickest) and would like to incorporate them into a remodel I'm doing on my house.  I plan on using whole trunk sections as posts and a beam to replace a section of the load bearing wall and open up my floorplan. 
The problem is, the trees have been down for a number of years (at least 3) and when I peeled the bark off, there is some bug infestation and rot (soft spongy wood) on the outer 1-2 inches.  I've cut up one of the trees to make some furniture, and the inner 14-16 inches seem very solid and structurally sound. 

My question is, what's the best way (or tool) to cut off the outer couple of inches to remove the bad spots.  I'd like to keep the round shape of the wood.  (If anyone has a magic technique that would remove the outer 8 growth rings, that would be ideal.)

On a related note, am I fooling myself to thinking that the inner portion is structurally sound?
Thank you for any thoughts.
billyO

Dodgy Loner

I doubt if you'll find any magic techniques; my suggestion would be to use a chainsaw to remove the bulk of the rotten portion, followed by a drawknife to clean it up and smooth it out.  Without seeing the logs, I can't comment on whether or not the center might still be solid, but I can give you a tip on determining that for yourself.