iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Grizzley G1026 Shaper

Started by Qweaver, March 16, 2006, 01:23:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Qweaver

I've been looking for a used 220v shaper for months now with no luck.  I've found several 3 phase machines but by the time I change the motor or add a phase converter the price is too high.  So I'm on the verge of ordering a new machine and the Grizzley G1026 3 hp 220 volt machine seems to meet my needs.  I will be making several thousand feet of T&G to make the cealing, flooring, interior paneling and exterior ship-lap for the house. 
I did buy a Dewalt DW618 router that I plan to mount as a table router but trying to make T&G with it would be a losing battle, I think.  Other than two years of high school woodshop 45 years ago, I have no experience with a shaper.  Is there an experienced woodworker out there that can give me some advice?  The G1026 with the required cutters will run about $1300 delivered.  This seems fairly reasonable considering the amount of work that I have to do.  I'll probably sell it when this job is done and recoup some of the cost.
TIA

Quinton
So Many Toys...So Little Time  WM LT28 , 15 trailers, Case 450 Dozer, John Deere 110 TLB, Peterson WPF 10",  AIM Grapple, Kubota 2501 :D

mur

Hi Qweaver:
The shaper will do all the things that you want to do.  My one bit of advice would be to plan for a power feed to go with the shaper.  Much safer and you keep better control of the wood. 
Don't dream it, be it.

Larry

I have the Delta HD 3-HP shaper...same as the machine your looking at.  Ran flooring, t&g, enough casing for 3 houses, deck railings for maybe 10 decks, cabinet doors, walk doors, and it is still like a new machine.

A power feeder is really a great accessory...I don't have one but do have access to one I can borrow when needed.  Essential for flooring and some jobs to keep your fingers attached.  Other jobs like t&g and railings it is not needed, provided the cutter can safely be shielded.