iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Selling green walnut to supplier

Started by firefighter ontheside, August 24, 2021, 12:12:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

firefighter ontheside

I will pay up to $1/bdft in the log for walnut logs normally.  I mill it and dry it and then sell for $6.  A hardwood supplier that i've been buying from for over 20 years is interested in buying green sawn walnut from me.  I'm interested, since I seem to always have a good supply of walnut logs and it would be good to cut and sell some of it without drying.  I have to figure out what is a good price for me.  I would appreciate any input.  Thanks.
Woodmizer LT15
Kubota Grand L4200
Stihl 025, MS261 and MS362
2017 F350 Diesel 4WD
Kawasaki Mule 4010
1998 Dodge 3500 Flatbed

btulloh

Find out what they think is a good price first. They might have a price in mind that is higher than your price. Usually the guy that throws out the first price is at a disadvantage. Also, I think it's better to let the market set the price rather than setting it based on your cost and overhead.  Market pricing is usually the best unless the supply is high and the demand is low. Good chance of giving away profit if it's a demand driven market.  Of course their price has to be equal or higher than your threshold price to make it worthwhile. Just my $0.02
HM126

Larry

Hardwood Market Report will give you prices.  They used to send out a free sample copy. 

I've sold a lot to the green walnut market long time ago.  Really liked the process.  Take the mill a 1,000 board foot load and get a check in the mail a few weeks later after it was graded.  Sapwood no defect. 

Lumber had to be fresh or they wouldn't buy it.  Fresh walnut steams better and commercially about all walnut is steamed.
Larry, making useful and beautiful things out of the most environmental friendly material on the planet.

We need to insure our customers understand the importance of our craft.

moodnacreek