iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Do it now or wait?

Started by hillsman, September 04, 2023, 06:13:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hillsman

Hi all, I'm new here and have a question for the group. I have decided I will be getting a sawmill but the question is, do I do it now or wait?  Should I wait until I have the best location on our property and build an elevated platform or put down something temporary so I can start sawing. I have zero experience with band saws but have used my chainsaw mill enough to get the bug about turning lumber into useful material. The only plans I have for lumber right now is a firewood shed and then an open sided building around the saw mill.  I am in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Virginia so leveling the terrain can require both time and $$.  We only have 6 acres so this will definitely fall into the hobby category.  I'm thinking this will be a stationary setup but a trailer option may be possible.  If I had to put a number on my budget it would probably be $4-$6K.  Thanks for your thoughts
Glenn

btulloh

Do it now.  Make a temporary setup and start sawing materials you need for the permanent setup, etc.  Being able to produce 6x6, 4x4, or anything you need is a big bonus. Turning cull logs from clearing your site into something usable really helps the process of developing your site.
HM126

Old Greenhorn

Do it now. The first mill is a very iterative process as even though you are already making lumber, this is going to be different for you. There is little way you can know ahead of time what exactly you want to do to prep your site. You will learn a lot as you do it, and no doubt given your experience, you will learn fast. All that Btulloh said is correct and having a stack of 6x6's already handy when you are really laying out your site will be as handy as a shirt pocket.
Tom Lindtveit, Woodsman Forest Products