iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Wood splitter heater

Started by 47sawdust, February 06, 2024, 03:23:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

47sawdust

Looking for some feedback on small diesel heaters.
I would like to warm up my splitter hydraulics and the motor. The splitter sometimes sits in an open shed with no power. There is 12 volt dc available. 
Don't know if a jump pack would work.
Thoughts appreciated. 
Mick
1997 WM Lt30 1999 WM twin blade edger Kubota L3750 Tajfun winchGood Health Work is my hobby.

Wlmedley

Before I retired I worked as a heavy equipment mechanic out of a service truck.  The company supplied us with small torpedo heaters and truck had a welder to run it.  I didn't like hearing welder so I bought a small power converter and wired up to truck battery. I think it was a 500w.  It ran torpedo heater with no problem. They use very little power and small power converter was fairly cheap.
Bill Medley WM 126-14hp , Husky372xp ,MF1020 ,Homemade log arch,Yamaha Grizzly 450,GMC2500,Oregon log splitter

doc henderson

if you decide to get an inverter, then it could power a magnetic Katz block heater.  one on the engine and one on the hydraulic tank.
Timber king 2000, 277c track loader, PJ 32 foot gooseneck, 1976 F700 state dump truck, JD 850 tractor.  2007 Chevy 3500HD dually, home built log splitter 18 horse 28 gpm with 5 inch cylinder and 32 inch split range with conveyor powered by a 12 volt tarp motor

21incher