iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sawing Points on Stakes

Started by POSTON WIDEHEAD, June 26, 2013, 03:56:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

POSTON WIDEHEAD

I couldn't find any pics in the search.....so I took a few.

When you work by yourself as I do, sometimes things are a little challenging.
I had to saw about 45 stakes for the guys to square up our building.

Its hard to hold the skill saw and saw points on a stake. It kills my wrist.
Plus it takes a little time.
So I just rigged up a few blocks to hold the stakes and let the mill saw the points. It worked great and really cut down on the time.  I'm sure some of you guys have done this, but this is my first time. The End.

The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

clww

That's pretty nifty thinking, David. 8)
Many Stihl Saws-16"-60"
"Go Ask The Other Master Chief"
18-Wheeler Driver

drobertson

Not bad, looks like a heck of a point, good idea man,   david
only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

Jim_Rogers

Before we bought a chop saw to point stakes we cut them on the mill, with a jig we made to hold piece like dominoes laying down. We'd load up 5 or 6 pieces of oak, clamp them and slice through all of them on one side, flip them all over and slice through the other side.
Then stand the blanks up on edge and cut them to 1" squares.
We changed to a chop saw to free up the mill to make more lumber.
We changed from the chop saw to a pointer to make the point faster. And on larger pieces.
Hay bale and surveyor stakes are 1 inch square, but we also make "tree stakes" for staking out newly planted small trees, and they are 1 1/2" x 1 1/2" x 8'
I have used this method to make very large wedges for black top companies to use to load their highway rollers onto their flat bed trailers.