iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sold the farm today!

Started by gspren, June 17, 2022, 08:06:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gspren

After 36 years of farm ownership today we sold it and are now down to slightly less than 2 acres. I wanted less maintenance and more free time to go to our beach house and the mountain cabin I share with my brother. I kept the chainsaws for cabin firewood so I won't bail out on the forum, will tell more later.
Stihl 041, 044 & 261, Kubota 400 RTV, Kubota BX 2670, Ferris Zero turn

Firewoodjoe

That's a big step and could have been difficult decision (would have been for me) but sounds like your ready and I wish you best of luck. Enjoy! 

B.C.C. Lapp

Had to be rough even if its the best thing for you.   But good luck.  As a farmer myself all i can say is you'l certainly have more time for lots of things now.
Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf.

Southside

Enjoy your time.  For sure a hard decision, I am in talks right now with a friend about buying his farm.  He approached me with the deal and even then I can see it's hard for him after 40+ years.  
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger
Woodmaster 725 and 4000 planner and moulder
Enough cows to ensure there is no spare time.
White Oak Meadows

SwampDonkey

Congrats! Enjoy your free time. Full steam ahead. smiley_thumbsup
"No amount of belief makes something a fact." James Randi

1 Thessalonians 5:21

2020 Polaris Ranger 570 to forward firewood, Husqvarna 555 XT Pro, Stihl FS560 clearing saw and continuously thinning my ground, on the side. Grow them trees. (((o)))

thecfarm

A different way of life is ahead of you now.
Enjoy!!!
I suppose someday I will do the same.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

Roxie

Farmers never actually retire, you're just living on less land. Happy for you!  
Say when