iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Need help with seized hit or miss engine

Started by Dangerous_Dan, September 10, 2006, 09:48:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dangerous_Dan

Picked up this engine at a garage sale.

It's locked up but looks complete and fixable.
I know how they work for the most part but this is my first time working on one.
I'm sure there are some things I need to know before attempting to disassemble, repair, reassemble and run it. I want to completely tear it down and rebuild it using as many of the original parts as possible. Also looking for info on the original application for this engine since one of the tags mentions "mixer".

First you make it work, then you trick it out!

Bro. Noble

Those engines were used to power all sorts of belt driven equipment before electricity was available.  I have one that came off of a concrete mixer and there were little chunks of conccrete that had to be chipped off of it before restoration :D :D

Yours appears to be in good shape and you shouldn't have any trouble restoring it to new condition.  Jeff's friend Harold can give you the website where you can purchase drip oilers,  rings, decals etc. There used to be a place that rebuilt Wico mags also although yours may work with some cleaning up if it's been stored inside.  I always had valves made at a machine shop from burned truck valves that could be cut down to fit.