iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

First big project!

Started by tyb525, December 21, 2008, 11:42:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tyb525

This Red Oak bookcase was my biggest project yet. I built it for me dad's neighbor, who wanted me to build her a bookcase when she heard I was a woodworker.  :)

It is 5' tall, 31 1/2" wide, 11" deep. The sides are red oak plywood (not the rotary cut kind ), the back is 1/4" oak plywood, and the shelves are oak plywood with 1" solid oak edging, and the face frame is solid oak. You can't really see it in the picture, but I had the perfect piece of oak for it. The grain follows the curves just right. It would've been a firewood piece for anything else.

The top and bottom shelves are adjustable. I just drilled evenly spaced 3/8" holes down the sides so short 3/8" dowel hold the shelves up. It's nothing fancy, but I think it looks better than adjustable shelf hardware.

I put Varathane Summer Oak gel stain on, then 2 coats of poly on the top, sides, and shelve bottoms. I put 3 coats on the face frame and shelve tops.

IMO it turned out better than I expected, I'm delivering it tomorrow. I hope she likes it!  8)

LT10G10, Stihl 038 Magnum, many woodworking tools. Currently a farm service applicator, trying to find time to saw!

beenthere

tyb
That looks great.
Hope she likes it. You'll have to let us know.

I envision the neighbor girl who lived next door to me (my age of 15, but she was my Dad's neighbor, and I built her a closet in her bedroom  8) 8) ). ;D ;D ;D
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

tyb525

Thanks beenthere. The neighbor lady is my dad's age  :D
LT10G10, Stihl 038 Magnum, many woodworking tools. Currently a farm service applicator, trying to find time to saw!

DanG

Quote from: tyb525 on December 21, 2008, 11:58:08 PM
The neighbor lady is my dad's age  :D

Hmmph!  Too young for me, then. ::) :D