iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Black Stains in Oak

Started by james04, February 23, 2008, 09:51:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

james04

Hello all,

I am new to milling and would like to know. If an oak log that had been left in contact with the ground and had black stains can be salvaged. When you first saw a board of the log you really see the stains well. But about 15-20 min. in the sun they start to fade to barley visible. Can these stains be removed? Or is this log destined for paint grade only?

James

Ron Wenrich

Usually those stains are only in the sapwood.  It is blue stain, and it occurs in about every type of tree.  There are exceptions.  The heartwood should be stain free.  If not, then it isn't stain.  Its what we call mineral, and it was there before the tree was cut down.

It may have lightened up after cutting, but it is not gone.  A clear finish will bring it right back up.  You may be able to work around it with some sort of stain.  It is normally sold as 2 Common lumber if there is stain.  It also can occur in dead stacked lumber.

Never under estimate the power of stupid people in large groups.

james04

Quote from: Ron Wenrich on February 23, 2008, 02:02:28 PM
Usually those stains are only in the sapwood.  It is blue stain, and it occurs in about every type of tree.  There are exceptions.  The heartwood should be stain free.  If not, then it isn't stain.  Its what we call mineral, and it was there before the tree was cut down.

It may have lightened up after cutting, but it is not gone.  A clear finish will bring it right back up.  You may be able to work around it with some sort of stain.  It is normally sold as 2 Common lumber if there is stain.  It also can occur in dead stacked lumber.