iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

First Frame

Started by FeltzE, July 07, 2003, 04:51:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FeltzE

Here are a cpl of pics of our first simple frame for storing lumber.  (If I can upload them

Eric

Bibbyman

Looks like progress!!  Keep us "posted". ;D
Wood-Mizer LT40HDE25 Super 25hp 3ph with Command Control and Accuset.
Sawing since '94

IndyIan

Hi Eric,
You took the week long timber frame course in August last year at Cowee mountain?  This is Ian, the guy from Canada.

Looks like your farther along the timber frame trail than me!  I'm still cutting my beams!

The frame looks great!  Did you design it your self?

FeltzE

Ian,

Yea it's me, We left Cowee Mtn Early though (after just 2 days). They dodged virtualy all of  >:( my questions. I had read up from several publications and I have some carpentry experience. I was quite put off by the "staff" (if thats what you can call them) up there.  :-X

This project has been done for  a few months now I just havn't taken the time to figure out how to post the pics.  ???

The design is a simple 2 bent design with a "shed" roof and one open side. I store lumber to air dry in it now. The dimensions are 14' wide 12' deep' and 12' high to the back sill (girt) and 14' to the front sill. The rafters are 4x6x16.

I started with the kids and I drew out the cuts and they helped cut the mortis's and tenons. About half way through I bought a power mortising cutter. After we spent a few afternoons drilling and chisling the expense became justified. The productivity is dramitically improved.

I had been looking for a timber frame company that is willing to provide a book of house plans that we could pick from and then buy the shop drawings and blue prints for the manufacture of the components and setup. We went to the Log Home show in greensboro NC this year and most of the companies are using the Log Show forum to showcase and sell their products. Understandable... but not what we were looking for.