iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Forestry mulcher help

Started by davidn3, May 01, 2019, 06:24:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

barbender

Unless your skidsteer has a variable displacement load sensing hydraulic system (which I doubt it does) running at low rpms cuts you hydraulic flow rate. I have limited hydraulic knowledge, but from what I've seen your flow rating is typically at full throttle or very close to it. If that's 2800 rpm and 30 gallons a minute flow (just throwing numbers out) if you are running at 1400 rpm your flow is cut in half, and your engine hp is going to be at full rpm as well. So if your running it idle back, you're lacking flow and power. I'll idle machine back a bit when I'm moving lumber with the forks etc (slows the hydraulics down so I'm not throwing stuff all over😉) and I don't feel like listening to the engine scream. But if I'm digging and working it, full throttle all the way! I spent many hours in skid steers on a residential paving crew, when we were excavating and prepping jobs those machines spent the whole day wide open. It's what they're designed to run.
Too many irons in the fire

pine

Any pictures of your carbides. Front and side view.  Can give you some help on whether they are worn out or not.
My mulcher has seen about 98% of its life at 100% power. Warm up, cool down and loading/unloading from transport is the only time it is not full throttle.  One small side benefit of that much time at full throttle is it does not need go into regen much.

davidn3