iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Pruning question

Started by TimFromNB, June 22, 2021, 08:06:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TimFromNB

Hello fine FF folks,

Pruning noob here.

I have a small red maple sapling growing in my yard. It has grown a good 18" since spring (if not 2ft!). Unfortunately I didn't groom it from the start and it has split into two shoots. Will this fork move upward as the tree grows, or does the new wood get "added" to the top of the tree?

Any chance I can prune the left shoot and have the tree fill in and become straight-ish? Or am I stuck with the fork at that height?

Thanks!

Texas Ranger

I would prune it and treat it with wound dope.  Using wound dope is debatable, but I use it.  As the tree grows it will "fill around" the fork and in time will be nearly invisible.  However, to me it is too close to the fence.
The Ranger, home of Texas Forestry

Ianab

New length is added at the growing tip. So if you leave the fork there, that's where it will stay. The trunk(s) will get fatter, but the initial fork will always be in that spot. 

At that size it will be OK to remove the smaller fork. There will be a slight kink at that point, but the scar will quickly seal over and become less and less obvious as the tree grows. 

And yes it's likely to push the fence over at some point in the future. How long that takes depends on your climate etc. 
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

TimFromNB

Ok, thanks for the info!

The sappling just grew there from a seed that fell from a neighbouring tree. I plan on transplating it in a year or so once it is more established.

PoginyHill

I would transplant now. No sense in waiting. It will just grown more roots that you'll cut when you do move it. But whenever that is, lots of water for the first year. I would either transplant now or cut the Y branch off now, not both. Space the two things apart by a year or more.