iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Anybody Cutting and Skidding Blow downs this winter?

Started by Codmons, December 21, 2010, 06:07:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Codmons

I'm 24, I've been working in the woods for 10 years now... just wondered if anyone else is getting the pleasure that I am this year of skidding blow downs out... Thank god for choker pokers lol... you guys have any tips for winter skidding?... I'm dressing heavy for sure...

northwoods1

Here is a tip: Get a good snow shovel :D Seriously, it is nice to have a good one on the skidder. Snow is beginning to add up here.

Autocar

When I still ran a cable skidder I took a 3/8's half moon rod off a old pull type hay rake. Then bent a tight hook on one end to pull the cable back underneath the log and a handle on the other end. It worked alot better then trying to jamb the cable under logs that were tight to the ground. I hung it on the skidder and I felt it save alot of time.
Bill

Kevin

I made a hook like that also but I put  red flagging on the handle so I don't lose it.
Not enough snow to skid yet but I broke the trail yesterday, waiting for it to freeze now.
Any tree that I have that is wind thrown is hung up on something else, they never make it all the way to the ground.
Get a cape for your hardhat to keep the snow from going down the back of your neck.

g_man

If they are froze to the ground and buried in snow the best thing you can have is a good sense of humor, a lot of patience, any plenty of good dry gloves. Dress in layers and the hardhat liner with a cape mentioned by Kevin is worth its weight in gold.

Kevin

Another item I have is a spare T shirt to change into at the end of the day.
When I wear a damp shirt I almost always end up with a cold.
I've been using a cheap rubber palm Atlas glove that keeps the hands dry along with a little bag balm.

Mark K