iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

One-man crew looking to be more efficient.

Started by ckprivette, August 24, 2014, 04:40:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ckprivette

I've been logging alone in my spare time, off on on for a few years. I love the work, but I've never been a master of efficiency. I just do the best I can with the equipment I have and hope for the best. However, the older I get the more I believe in working smarter instead of harder. I'm looking for tips to improve my efficiency, and I imagine there are plenty of great ideas out there for easier small-scale logging that I've never learned or thought of, so I appeal to the wisdom of you all. I'll describe my "operation" for you. If you can help, please do.

I cut mostly poplar because it pays the most around here in western NC. My saw is a Husky 346. I fell the trees mostly in the direction they want to go, but if I need to encourage them to fall a certain way, I climb an extension ladder, wrap a strap around the tree, and pull it with any combination of 2 logging chains and a 50' logging cable. I hook this "chain" to a scrape blade behind my MF240 tractor. I also have wedges that I can pound into the saw cut.
Once the trees are down, I cut them up into lengths of 8-16 feet, being careful to minimize the number of knots in each log- as suggested by my local mill. Then I drag the logs to the loading area with the above mentioned chains and tractor.

I load the logs with the front-end loader of a Ford 3000 tractor. I load the logs onto a flatbed trailer that I pull to the mill with a pickup. i secure the logs with chains and binders. I usually haul between 7-10 logs at a time, depending on the size. (around 8000 pounds.) I can usually drop the logs where I want them on the trailer, but I have a cant hook if I need it. Round trip to the mill and back is about 1 hour 15 minutes.

Issues/delays I run into:

1. the time it takes to rig up my tree-pulling system for trees leaning the wrong way.