iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

automotive trans. fluid??

Started by snaponman1526, February 01, 2010, 08:14:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

snaponman1526

i have a 50 gallon drum of transmission fluid. it drum is about a year old and and is mercon II. i really have no use for it because this fluid isnt compatible with newer vehicles. any harm using this as bar and chain lube? or should i just consider it a loss and recycle it. thanks benn

Rocky_J

I'm no oil expert, but I do know that trans fluid has lots of cleaners in it. This should be fine from a lubrication standpoint and it won't harm the saw. However I'd probably mix it about 50-50 with bar lube in order to get the tackifiers to keep it from slinging off the tip of the bar as much. Or add tack agents such as STP or something.

The area where I don't have any knowledge is the safety aspect of flinging trans fluid in the air, getting it on your skin and breathing the mist. I do know that as a kid in my father's gas station, he showed me how he added a quart of trans fluid to the 5 gallons of diesel fuel in the parts washer bin to keep it from eating up your skin. So in that respect I think trans fluid is not harmful to handle. I'm sure others will argue that trans fluid (and everything else in life) will kill you if you touch it.

I do remember one day last year when I ran out of bar lube on a job and I grabbed a half full jug of trans fluid to use instead. Ran a few saws with it all day without any problems or unusual chain stretch. It worked fine.

Jasperfield

I don't know that product well, but think if it was for auto transmissions it ought to do well for bar oil. It might not be as tacky as dedicated bar oils, though.

I use ATF to lubricate the bar on my firewood processer. It works real well.

If I were you, I'd use it.

Magicman

Divide it up and share it with all of your Woodmizer owning friends.  That's what is used in the hydraulics and all mill lubricating needs...... 8)