iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Where to buy Anchorseal / log sealer?

Started by StorminN, July 15, 2009, 11:26:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

StorminN

I need to coat some logs... do you guys find it locally, or is it a mail order item? Just wondering, I've never used it before...

Thanks,
-N.
Happiness... is a sharp saw.

tyb525

I order it online from uc coatings. www.uccoatings.com/Home/Products/ANCHORSEAL

Other sawmill/logging supply stores will probably have it or something similar.

Bailey's has a different brand of the same thing.

It really does help to control splitting.
LT10G10, Stihl 038 Magnum, many woodworking tools. Currently a farm service applicator, trying to find time to saw!

Jasperfield

Can it be sprayed on as well as brushed on?

tyb525

According to their website anchorseal can be sprayed on. I've also heard that it doesn't work too well with the backpack weed sprayers because the tips are too fine. UC coatings sells a sprayer suited for it. I think you could also use a paint sprayer.

I prefer rolling it on. Just fill up a 5 gallon bucket and get one of those grates that hang on the side. When you're done, just drop it in the bucket and put the lid on, that way it doesn't dry up and you don't have to clean it up.

I'm still pretty much a beginner at this so I'm sure others will come along with more informative information.
LT10G10, Stihl 038 Magnum, many woodworking tools. Currently a farm service applicator, trying to find time to saw!

WDH

Anchorseal is wonderful!  It is pricey though, so I paint it on with a brush.
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5-111, Kubota L2501, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

Burlkraft

I'm usin' Bailey's Seal right now.

I like it, it seems to coat  okay.

I guess I don't see much of a difference except Bailey's is a sponsor of the Forum.  ;D  ;D
Why not just 1 pain free day?

WDH