iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Another Resume question

Started by Joca, February 19, 2004, 12:36:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Joca

Hello everyone,

I graduated with a degree in Forestry in 1995, and I had a difficult time finding good paying jobs in forestry.  Here is a link to the resume that I am working on

http://members.cox.net/lebellap/resume.htm

My career did not go the way I planned, and the last few years have left me wanting to get back to the outdoors and the field of forestry.

I am hoping that someone in this forum may be able to throw some constructive critisism my way and help improve my chances before I start applying for jobs.  The resume is not quite a finished product, so any suggestions would be welcomed.  I am currently employed, but would like to land a job that meant something to me.

Is there any chance of me to getting a descent job as a forester?  If not, what would you suggest I look into?  Thanks for any help you can provide.

beenthere

Sorry to hear you are having problems finding the job you want. Probably good to ask the question, to try to find out more about why this is not happening.

Look at your resume as if you were hiring someone to do a "foresters' job. What in your resume would you see that would make you pick it out of a stack of others also wanting to be hired?  Take the objective first.  "provide all of the knowledge and experience considered necessary for a life-long career...""  That is pretty general, and pretty impossible to attain, in my opinion. And it is not what someone wants to hire you to do for them. Make your objective exciting for you and more to the point, and such that it will be easier for the employer to want to pick you for their staff.