iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Antique logging tong assistance

Started by Forest Fairy, August 06, 2021, 02:45:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Forest Fairy

Greetings everyone, first time posting. I'm a newbie in every sense so please forgive my naïveté. I've been reading, trying to educate myself after the World Wide Web searching gave me zero - clear or concise, factual answers to where I could properly identify and determine the age of some tongs I inherited  by surprise on a historical farm/property purchased in Northern Virginia.
I am not in the industry although tree and wood work is a major part of my professions and hobbies. This site and the interactions and information I've observed being shared here have helped tremendously already and also given me confidence and trust to know I am not going to be fed lines of BS or half A'd info if I ask newbie questions or because I'm eww, a girl. Hahaha 
I like to the learn, and learn it properly, in any aspect whatever it may be. And clearly, you all know your stuff. You've all inspired me far outside of what originally brought me here. It's nice to know theres a place I can come and ask greenhorn questions and be given solid and quality info and actually learn - accurate, clear and concise, solid info ! So I just wanted express my appreciation and say thank you before asking my tong questions. Pertinent actual knowledge, honest, factual info that also has substance and quality to it, plus integrity ?? It should not be so bloody hard to locate in the world. Thank you.

So, Ive learned that logging tongs were also used as ice tongs and called as such. Hence my thorough confusion on the web. They also found use in hay barns back in the day. Hence more of my confusion as thats where these were found tucked away, many, many moons ago.
Pretty positive, thanks to you all that what I have are logging tongs - still unclear as to the lifting/skidding bit and how to accurately determine. Especially on such old ones.