iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

660 racing out of control

Started by Timberguytim, December 24, 2019, 03:37:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Timberguytim

I am a veteran operator as well as full time marine mechanic. This problem came on slowly and continuously got worse. Now the saw will not idle at all. It was purchased in the Philippines and is a German made Stihl. It has no restrictions on carburetor adjustments. Both high and low speed needle have always been at about 1.5 turns open. The saw is about 12 years old but sat on the shelf the last 5 years. I started with clutch side crankshaft seal then intake snorkel, pulse tube, carburetor kit all to no avail. All above mentioned parts were pristine. Saw has NEVER tasted ethanol (have to be very careful here as MN is one of the mandated states. Does anyone have the nerve to recommend another option to repair? Could it be flywheel side seal? I have an 064 with never a problem, also an 084 and poppa 880 magnum. Never "saw" this problem with a Stihl.
I GOTTA tell the truth, or I'll forget what I said!

sawguy21

Welcome!! Grab a coffee and pull up a stump. Those are classic signs of an intake air leak, the crankcase needs to be pressure tested which is quicker and easier than randomly changing parts.
old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm

Al_Smith

It's a leak some place .Although it would be highly unlikely it could be a case or cylinder base gasket leak if it's not a crankshaft seal .

Mad Professor

You want to test for leaks under pressure and vacuum.

If you don't have a pump, a Mitivac 8500 will do both, ~$70.

Stihl gasket sets come with seals and cost less than just buying seals.

If you work on stihls the flywheel puller is a good investment too.

Timberguytim