iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Stihl MS271 new to me...issues running

Started by VB-Milling, May 29, 2021, 02:01:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

VB-Milling

Just picked up a new to me MS271. Husband passed, wife sold it to me on offerup. All she knew was it ran 2 seasons ago.

I replaced the air filter as it looked pretty grimy.  Admittedly, I'm new to Stihl so I followed the startup procedures carefully. No primer bulb on this model. Choked it, it fired, moved lever to starting position and it ran like a scalded dog. Blipped the throttle and it stalled.  This is it's current state. Every time I try to start it cold, the same thing happens.  After a few attempts, it won't start at all.  I got myself the carb adjustment screwdriver thinking maybe someone monkeyed with all the adjustment screws.  I put everything back to factory settings per the manual and it's the same issue.  Not sure where to go from here....

Thoughts?
HM126

Tacotodd

Worth a shot and cheap; fuel filter. 
Trying harder everyday.

kantuckid

A top notch Stihl dealer/mechanic told me the newer Stihl filters blocked more easily than once was the case. Cannot tell by a quick look/see inspection was his point, so he changes them on many saws brought in with issues. 
Kan=Kansas;tuck=Kentucky;kid=what I'm not

doc henderson

try fresh gas with seafoam.  following a bit of spray.  did the old gas smell like varnish.  My wife has no idea when I got or the last time I used my saws.   :)
Timber king 2000, 277c track loader, PJ 32 foot gooseneck, 1976 F700 state dump truck, JD 850 tractor.  2007 Chevy 3500HD dually, home built log splitter 18 horse 28 gpm with 5 inch cylinder and 32 inch split range with conveyor powered by a 12 volt tarp motor

VB-Milling