iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Attn: Pacific Northwest loggers: whats your daily line of work like?

Started by author stefan magi fionn, August 27, 2014, 02:20:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

author stefan magi fionn

Hello forum, I just wanted to introduce myself since I am new. My name is Stefan Magi Fionn (pen name), I am an author and I am currently writing a fictional book where the main characters are loggers in washington state/ oregon state (havent made up mind yet to what state). I have been trying to do research on what gear, tools etc, method of operation, jargon of logging crews in the pacific northwest. It is difficult for me to pin point that area with regards especially to jargon on the web. For instance, loggers in the south may have a different way of going about there business or the jargon they use opposed to that of the pacific northwest.

Another question: When Loggers go into a forest to harvest timber, do they do so by the plot (taking everything)? Or do they go in and mark certain trees and leave others behind? What trees are most sought after?

Thanks in advance for any help you will be able to provide, I'm having alot of difficulty finding the accurate details that I need.

thenorthman

I guess to start, there are several types of sales, but basically they are thinning or clear cuts. Thinning's being only taking selected timber usually for stand improvement, many reasons for a thinning. Clear cuts are done to harvest everything, usually all one species of timber since most forests around here have been planted, although you still get volunteers of different species of timber, clear cuts are done for several reasons as well, mostly as a way of replanting a whole new crop, some timber grows better with no competition.

As far as marking timber, that is usually left up to the foresters and sale managers, if loggers where to be left to mark their own timber, all sales would be clear cuts...