iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Building my version of a log arch

Started by kkcomp, January 14, 2022, 07:29:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kkcomp

While waiting for my mill to arrive I have started making preps. While gathering learning logs it quickly became obvious that an arch would be a big help. Looking here and at You Tube I got lots of great ideas and inspirations and added a few ideas of my own. I can't say where each idea came from but thanks to those that posted their work to use as inspiration. 

After dragging these through the dirt the need for an arch became obvious.

The first question was how to move the arch so I added a hitch receiver to my box blade.

I am by no means a professional so I have to brag a bit about this weld 

Then of course it had to color match my Kubota.

Now on to the arch itself. After looking at prices for trailer kits and wheels I was ready to change my mind and just buy one. Then I found a trailer on Craigslist for $125 less than the parts would cost so I grabbed it.

This is the starting point for the arch. The trailer also came with a variety of items that proved useful later. 

After stripping the trailer to the frame the first arches and the beam is in place. For the risers I used 2x2x1/4 tubing. the main beam is 2x3x1/4 tubing. One thing that bugged me while researching was a lack of measurements so here is the approximate measurements I used. The risers are 16 inch the truss (angles) are 26 ish. The trailer bed is 10x 5 and the arch height from the bed to the gussets is 42 inches. Also note the basket in the front made from some of the "extra" materials that came with the trailer. More on that later.

The center arch is in place.

This is the basket I made from some of the extras. I split the basket and one side will hold the battery for the winch and the other will hold chains, ratchet straps, snatch blocks, the grapple and other stuff. I also made the front removable for ease in loading.