iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Learning

Started by Sarah Duval, March 16, 2012, 11:41:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sarah Duval

Hello all, my wife and I have started a small business with my father making and selling grade stakes and trailer decking. I am a heavy diesel tech by trade so i am not familiar with cutting lumber. I am looking for some help finding good books and possibly a tech school that i could do part time to learn. My father loves finish woodworking and has been doing it for years but we never milled our own lumber. We live in southern NH. We bought the mill originally as a hobby for my dad but he knows so many people in the construction industry here that we started making the grade stakes. Now i want to take it further and make a bussiness out of it. Any help would be greatly appreciated thanks Robert.

Cutting Edge

Welcome to the Forum!!!  I cannot offer any advice on books or tech schooling, but there is an abundance of information located here.  The "search" box can be your best freind.  Hours of enjoyable and educational reading.  I know, I have been doing it.  Best of luck in your endeavor w/ your business goals...You've come to the right place!!!  Great Folks Here!!
"Winning an argument isn't everything, as long as you are heard and understood" - W.S.

Cutting Edge Saw Service, LLC -
- Sharpening Services
- Portable/Custom Milling and Slabbing
- On-Site Sawmill Maintenance/Repair Services

Factory Direct Kasco WoodMaxx Blades
Ph- (304) 878-3343

Sarah Duval

Thank you I have been checking out the forums for about 2 weeks now and was a little hesitant about posting, I didn't want to sound like a total newbie but that's what I am. I have found a ton of info here already and I am absolutely amazed with the fourmus here.

beenthere

Welcome to the forum Sarah Robert.

Pull up a stump.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Sarah Duval