iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Selling Florida mahogany and rosewood

Started by Allenb, October 25, 2018, 08:02:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Allenb

Hello,
I am relatively new to milling and this is my first post. I live in south Florida and have been collecting and milling Cuban mahogany. Mahogany is a common ornamental plant here and is on every almost every residential corner.

Seeing as true Cuban (genuine) mahogany, grown in its native range, is not commercially available anymore, I would imagine that there would be some demand for this wood. However, I have gotten barely any interest from potential buyers both hardwood dealers and private woodworkers. 

Does anyone have any input on why this is? I don't think I am asking too much, 15$ per board foot. 

swampbuggy

The people I mill for in Fl get between $6 and $10 A BF.
If it was easy, everyone would be doing it!

Ianab

I think a bit much as well. There are other woods that you can substitute for Mahogany that sell for much less. Just checked and here in NZ Rosewood is selling for maybe US$7 if you buy in bulk, and you can easily get Jarra and Kwila if you need the durability for around the same price. 

Now if you are fixing up your boat, and the choice is imported Jarra or foreign "mahogany" for $7, or local (genuine) Mahogany for $15? Most folks are going to find the substitute is suddenly "good enough". 

Now if your wood was $8? Pay $1 more for the genuine article? Yeah, more folks should go for that. This is also in line with the pricing that Swampbuggy is seeing. 

In the end, something is only worth what a buyer is willing to pay, but you should still be able to make good coin at $7-8, and actually move some stock. 
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

Nomad