iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New Husky Woes!!!

Started by sigidi, December 10, 2004, 04:09:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sigidi

I'm very new to chainsaws and as such need to get a whole heap of info very fast...

Recently bought a 372xp have used it for about 10-12 hours dosen't seem to have skipped a beat (Being such a noob - don't know how much my opinion is worth?) Anyways put it in for it's first service (a bit overdue but you get that sometimes)

I go to pick it up two days later as I haven't been rang to say it's ready - the short of it is I am told I need a new piston and ring as I have ran it without oil in the fuel ( I am pedantic as hell and even bought a fuel can to assign to the saw when I bought it, so I know it has had the right oil mix everytime)

About $300AU to fix and when I affirm I put oil in to the right concentration every time, I then get told it has happenend 'cause it wasn't Husky oil being used.

Is this even possible? As I say about 10-12 hours runtime maybe not even more like 10-12 litres (sorry for that) of fuel : oil mix so more correctly probably much less time, each time 25:1 mix, I was shown the piston in the machine and it is scored fairly well, can this happen so soon if using oil but just not the right brand oil?

Is this chap trying to take me for a few quick $'s? or was I just plain stoopid not to run Husky oil in it?

Please help me out on this guys - thanks
Always willing to help - Allan

DanManofStihl

You need to run amsoil oil in your saws that is the best I have ever used. What did he say it was seized had not compression or gumeed up. 25 to 1 is a pretty low mix what did your owners manual say my new saws run 50 to 1 and I have never had a problem with them.
Two Things in life to be proud of a good wife and a good saw.

Kevin

sigidi;
You should always use Husqvarna chain saw oil in your saw at least until the warranty is up.