iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Advice for a forestry student

Started by tsugacanadensis, September 03, 2023, 12:18:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tsugacanadensis

Hello all, I am a senior at Michigan State University. I am currently majoring in Sustainable Parks, Recreation, and Tourism and minoring in Forestry. I switched my major as a junior and have been playing catch-up since, but have found that I am most passionate about my forestry classes and want to pursue a career in forestry after graduation. I have taken/am taking several forestry classes at this point and will have accumulated over 30 forestry credit hours, some of which include forest veg, forest ecology, field methods, GIS, nat. resource policy, wildland fire, etc. However, I will be missing out on some core classes like silviculture, forest econ., forest land management, tree biology, and soil science. At this time I'm not 100% sure what I want to pursue after graduation but from what I'm aware of, I think I want to do private forestry consulting or something else in the private sector. I spoke with my advisor and finishing the minor in forestry will not give me an SAF accredited degree, but switching to the major will take one extra year and get me the accreditation. I am very privileged to have been offered a scholarship to be able to take the extra year, but I do not want to pursue this if it won't give me more/better job opportunities post-graduation. For all you forestry professionals out there, in your experience, is having an SAF accredited degree necessary/worthwhile?  Thank you in advance for your thoughts! 

Old Greenhorn

I am not a forester but from doing private consulting I can tell you that those courses you will be missing are kind of key to what you want to do in the private sector. Others will weigh in soon with some more reliable thoughts.
 Your thread might get better traction in another forum heading such as forestry.
Tom Lindtveit, Woodsman Forest Products