iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Started a new project and a question

Started by Kingcha, July 12, 2013, 11:23:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kingcha

First the question.  Since I am still learning I often turn off my 10hp electric motor while I decide my next action, sometimes its for only 3-5 minutes.   Would it be easier on the motor to just leave it on?

Started the solar kiln today.

A few of the beams cut for the kiln

The floor framing is done

Hey on another note, am I the only one that has a problem with the last cut of a log.  Yeah I have ruined a blade or 3.   I gotta slow down and measure twice I guess.

I have to set up another temp building for dying lumber.   I would be sawing more if I just had more space.   I am looking forward to sawing for others so they can take it with them.   :D

I had more questions but they are not coming to me right now.  Thanks for listening.
a Wood-mizer LT15 10hp Electric, 45hp Kioti tractor, electric smoker, wood-fired brick oven & yes a custom built Solar Kiln

justallan1

I don't know the right answer for you, but I know that the two bands that busted on me were while it was running at full speed sitting out of the log. I don't know why that would happen like that, but it did.
As for turning on and off an electric motor, I think it would affect you utility bill the most, granted you probably don't want to be doing it all day.
When I get down to the last board and if for what ever reason it ends up an oddball number I flip the board rather than trying to clamp a thin piece and then just measure off of zero.

Allan

customsawyer