sanity check for my project about to start

Started by alo53, November 12, 2021, 02:14:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alo53

Hey everyone! What a cool site to stumble on. So much good info. We've got a patio cover project designed with some very large beams/spans, and I had a nightmare the other night that the structural engineer missed something and the thing collapsed on my head lol. I am an aerospace engineer and am now trying to learn structural engineering so I can get over my new irrational last minute hesitation

Anyway, the design is 4 posts, 5x5 steel columns (will be wrapped) supporting 8x18 DF #1 beams. There are two king posts with an arched beam (cut from a 6x14) to support the 6x14 ridge beam. Obviously, a lot of big timber on this project. The steel columns are gonna be attached to a 3ft x 3 ft pad that is 3 ft below grade (caged in concrete/rebar).

I have modeled up most of these members on my own and I think it does check out. I am not sure how to model the arched collar tie beam supporting the ridge. At it's narrowest in the center,  it is cut to 5x6, but it is thicker near the ends where the moment load is highest. The concealed hardware also scares me but I did look into that and the Simpson HCJTZ carries up to 8000 lbs.

Anyway, is there anything here that anyone thinks requires further sanity check and for me to ask any additional questions from our engineer? We are in San Diego – so no snow, but definitely potential of earthquakes.

Jim_Rogers

Interesting project.
First off King post are in the center of the span/roof.
Your label should say "Queen" post, as queens are to the side of the center.
These types of frames need to be reviewed by an experienced timber frame structural engineer to be sure your numbers and sizes are correct.

Good luck with your project.

Jim Rogers
Whatever you do, have fun doing it!
Woodmizer 1994 LT30HDG24 with 6' Bed Extension

Don P

Let's look,