iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

What firewood processor to get

Started by 4x4American, April 01, 2015, 10:01:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

4x4American

Howdy,

The company I work for is getting a different firewood processor and they asked me to do some research for them.  They want to spend in the 20-30k range.  We have a BlockBuster right now and it should be sold pretty soon.  New or used it don't matter.  It is mainly an excavation company, but we do firewood when we're slow, have time, or have a customer who wants firewood.  We do land clearing and keep a pretty good stockpile of logs.  The good sawlogs we sell to a log buyer and the uglier stuff goes for firewood.  When we have some time to do firewood, we need to turn logs into firewood fast, because we usually don't have much time for it.  I have little knowledge of the processor industry, and wish to learn more.

Our firewood logs are trucked in the back of a dump truck and tend to get dirty.  Currently our processor has a hydraulic chainsaw and it's a bit of a pain to take off and sharpen it.  We want something that is easy to keep sharp.  Does a circle blade do better than a chain in dirty stuff?

Any advice is much appreciated
Boy, back in my day..

beenthere

The BlockBuster being sold for what reason? Has been a good company, from what I've heard.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

4x4American

Someone made them a deal they couldn't refuse!  They want to get a bigger one, it can't take big enough logs, and they can't be much longer than 8 foot either.  They are looking for one that is a bit bigger and faster.  For what they want, in their price range, it's most likely going to be a used unit, so that's why they aren't being brand specific.  I like the looks of the Bells Machining processors but they are spendy units.
Boy, back in my day..

beenthere