iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Forced draft OWB to natural draft?

Started by ButchC, February 05, 2018, 04:37:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ButchC

I have been running a 4400 woodmaster for 10 years and have always burned dry split wood. Has always seemed to me that the forced draft was set up for burning wet wood in big chunks, way too much air. So, after thinking about it all these years today I put a switch on the draft fan , currently burning on the draft from the stack. Anyone else done this? I will report results if there is interest.
Peterson JP swing mill
Morbark chipper
Shop built firewood processor
Case W11B
Many chainsaws, axes, hatchets,mauls,
Antique tractors and engines, machine shop,wife, dog,,,,,that's about it.

Gearbox

My fans have a rheostat and burning dry wood I keep it on low speed .
A bunch of chainsaws a BT6870 processer , TC 5 International track skidder and not near enough time

Don P

Without forced draft you can probably adjust natural draft with some stack height.

ButchC

I have 6 foot of stack on it. It's 19 here and  washing machine is runnning, we heat the domestic too. Draft was open for 1 1/2 hours to reach cut off temp.  Usually 15 minutes with the fan. Should be able to come to some sort of conclusion about wood usage fairly quickly since I know the thing pretty well.
Peterson JP swing mill
Morbark chipper
Case W11B

thecfarm

I have a Heatmor,no natural draft with one of these. My fire would go out with the blowers. The fans don't come on,it can't get no air. This allows me to burn dead cedar and not have a boil over.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

E Yoder

Slow burning may creosote up on you..what I've seen is if the stack height isn't high enough to create adequate draft, moisture will tend to condense on the door jambs, chimney, or any other cool spot.
Rust follows if it's mild steel.
Just something to keep an eye on.