iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sawing cedar in exchange for cedar (standing Trees) question?

Started by Snowman1988, July 23, 2021, 09:03:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Snowman1988

Good evening everybody. I'm still pretty new to milling, and I've got my business up and going (Thompson Timber & Sawmill-Watonga,OK)

My question is I have a customer that messaged me that has some nice mature cedar trees on his property out in the country. He'd like to have some sawn for a project. but he'd like to exchange some standing trees for my labor.

Normally how I would do this is, if you bring the log to my mill I'll saw it on 50/50 shares.

But I was wondering if you have ever exchanged lumber for standing timber? where you went out and personally cut the trees and stacked the limbs and hauled the logs to your own mill?

If so how did you handle it that was fair for the customer and for you as well?

an example would be like: for every 5 log you keep and milled 1 for the customer? 

my mill is a stationary Timberking 1220

Southside

So your "customer" wants you to take on all the risk, all the labor, and all the expense, so you can invest more labor, risk, and expense into your "share" and hope to recover something out of it down the road.  I wonder if he first got a quote from a tree service company that made him gasp. 

Personally I would explain to the customer that I run a sawmill business and give him the rates to saw his logs into lumber and let him figure out how to convert the timber into logs.  
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger
Woodmaster 725 and 4000 planner and moulder
Enough cows to ensure there is no spare time.
White Oak Meadows

barbender