iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Question on brace width (Sobon Shed)

Started by SWdendro, March 14, 2024, 11:35:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SWdendro

Dear Timberframers,

I'm new to timberframing and I have a question on brace width.  Specifically I'm looking at the plans in Will Beamer's Learn to Timberframe book for the Sobon "Garden Shed".

The timber list (pg. 88) calls for 3x5 braces (and 3x5 collars).  All other components in the design allow for housing/reductions given that the timbers could be slightly undersized (i.e., a nominal 3x5 brace might actually be 2 7/8 x 4 3/4 when received from the sawyer).

The brace mortises are specified as 1 1/2" off the reference faces and 1 1/2" wide (page 96-97).  This "inner" 1 1/2" corresponds the mortise width.  Thus, for the brace tenon to accurately fit this mortise (and not be undersized), it also needs to be 1 1/2 thick (pg. 110, see diagram in "step 6").

If I'm understanding everything correctly, if the brace width is actually less than 3", then the tenon itself would essentially be short the difference between the actual and nominal 3" (given how the reference face is specified on the braces, see page 108), and would be loose in the mortise.

Am I missing something here!?  Or is this an inconsistency in the plans?  Should the braces/collars have actually been specified as 3 1/2" nominal to ensure that they have sufficient width to accommodate both a 1 1/2" offset and a 1 1/2" tenon?

Thanks!

Jim_Rogers

When I cut my own brace stock, I cut it 1/8" over the actual width. So for 3x5 braces and 4x6 braces, I cut 3 1/8" thick and 4 1/8" thick stock.
The reason why is because of the timing between when the brace stock is milled and when the tenons are cut.
If you buy all your stock or mill it yourself, there could be a difference in thicknesses.
Milling your own would be easy to make it over sized. 
Some mills or lumber yards won't have 4 1/8 or 3 18" thick stock.