iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Electrical service for timber framing/wood working shop

Started by esarratt, December 30, 2021, 09:46:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

esarratt

I am about to set up electrical service for my home.  I will have a small wood working shop to do timber framing behind the house.  I am a residential customer.

I want to plan for the future.

I currently have one piece of 220v equipment (2500W @ 230V @15 Ampere).

It takes this type of outlet.

1) What other types of outlets would be good to install?
2) What type (amp) of service would be good to install?  Up to 400 amps is offered in our area.
3) Any other suggestions would be useful.

I am a utility contractor, but I don't know residential electric like a licensed electrician.  I plan on having a licensed electrician look over my installation, and I will have everything re-permitted.

Thank you all for your advice.

Edit: I suspect I will acquire additional 220v/240v pieces of equipment in the future.

scsmith42

Personally I would consider a 400A service to the house with a 200A subpanel in your shop.  

For wiring, I'd run multiple runs of 1" conduit under the slab from your load center to each wall so that you can pull whatever wiring you need in the future, as opportunities and needs arise.

I did this in my shop and have needed to reconfigure it a few times in order to accommodate new equipment and revised layouts.  Having the conduit makes it much easier to change the wiring around.
Peterson 10" WPF with 65' of track
Smith - Gallagher dedicated slabber
Tom's 3638D Baker band mill
and a mix of log handling heavy equipment.

Den-Den

I won't recommend a specific size service but will offer some things to consider.
Assuming you will be working in the shop by yourself, most power needs are one tool at a time but some exceptions are:
* HVAC
* Air compressor
* Dust collector
* lighting

If you size the service so that all of the above can run while a 5hp tool starts, you should be fine.