iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Interesting Observation ripping with a chainsaw

Started by tburch, May 24, 2015, 11:23:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tburch

I snagged a piece of freshly cut, sopping green, elm from the local dump yesterday.  About 4.5' long, 14" diameter, knot free.   My wife and I had been talking about making a rustic bench, and when she saw it, she suggested we take it home and have a go of it. 

We took it home.  I got my 12" Echo chainsaw (CS-3000, 30.1 CC engine), took off the crosscut chain and installed a chain I had reground to be a rip chain several years ago.  It was very dull.   (My last experience was ripping elm, and it wasn't pretty.)

I went out to the barn and found a small round file and resharpened the chain to something in the neighborhood of what I felt to be around 10 degrees.  No gauge was used. (And note that this is probably the 3rd time in my life I've attempted to hand-sharpen a saw chain.  I'm a complete novice.) 

Back at the log, I stood the elm on end, and and starting cutting from the top down through the middle, with the intention of halving the log into two equal pieces.   

After a several minutes of slow cutting I had progressed just a few inches.  I realized the cut was starting to curve, telling me I did a lousy job (expected) of sharpening the chain.