iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Woodmaster life expectancy

Started by Button, December 26, 2010, 06:54:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Button

I have been burning a woodmaster 434 for 9 years. The last six have been 24/365. I have developed a leak behind the door frame on the right side. because of the holiday my dealer has not return my calls or email. I know the warranty won't cover much at this time, but i was wondering, is there any woodmaster owners that are burning their stoves longer than this, if you have , what have I done wrong ?
thanks,enjoy
66 timberjack 230
394xp
365 special x 2
woodmaster
the rabbits may outrun the skidder but the saw will catch up to the tree

maple flats

I can't speak for Woodmaster, but I was a Taylor dealer until 11 yrs ago when I sold the business to a younger man. You have a few things to consider. We found the most important by far was proper grounding of the unit. You should have a 4 ga or heavier copper ground wire attached to an 8' ground rod (some areas need 10') and hooked to the stove, in a spot that s ground to bare metal. 2 rods and cables are even better.It can be painted after the connection is made. This helps control electrolysis. Do you use what ever the Mfgr says to use in the water, a boiler treatment of some sort? Do you keep old ashes from packing tight into corners with no loosening and removal. Do you let the unit cool in the off season with ashes inside? These are some causes of pre mature failure. The water you have is another. Find out what PH the mfgr wants and keep it in the right range.