iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Can’t get NPT thread to seal.

Started by Big_eddy, March 17, 2024, 09:26:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Big_eddy

The outlet on the new pump I put on my splitter has a 3/4" NPT thread. I have a 90 degree elbow mounted there that then connects to the 3/4" hose to the valve. I gooped it up well with pipe dope and tightened it and after a day or two, it was leaking. I cleaned it, re-doped it, tightened it again, a full turn more, and now a month later it's leaking again. I know you never use Teflon tape on hydraulic fittings, but is there something better than what I'm using? I hate leaks!!

21incher

I use loctite 545 on hydraulic fittings. Clean with IPA first and let it cure 24 hours before pressurizing. Supposed to be good up to 50mm fittings. 
Hudson HFE-21 on a custom trailer, Deere 4100, Kubota BX 2360, Echo CS590 & CS310, home built wood splitter, home built log arch, a logrite cant hook and a bread machine. And a Kubota Sidekick with a Defective Subaru motor.

Wlmedley

I always use pipe tape on NPT no matter what it is used on.I've never heard not to use it on hydraulic applications.I always used it for over 40years and I've did a lot of hydraulic work.Put pipe tape on it and pay attention which way you put it on.
Bill Medley WM 126-14hp , Husky372xp ,MF1020 ,Homemade log arch,Yamaha Grizzly 450,GMC2500,Oregon log splitter

Magicman

I had a situation similar to what you are describing on an electric tankless water heater.  Same thread count but no taper.  It actually was some sort of compression fitting rather than NPT.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

YellowHammer