iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Is my side arm installed correctly?

Started by top_prop, November 12, 2020, 03:47:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

top_prop

Newbie here... think I've got a bad contractor problem...

I Contacted a wood boiler company, and got the information of a local pro from them... he installed a wood boiler,  new hot water heater  (76gallon propane), side arm heat exchanger and put a heat exchanger in my forced air system (installed Sept 2020).   Its wasn't cold enough to bother firing it up until recently when lows were approaching below zero (no antifreeze so I fired it to protect it).

Hot water heater (DHW) output got a tempering valve that he said was set to 120degF by the factory.  Because the boiler was going to heat the water way to hot to use (I get this is a good idea.... even code in most areas).   However The only temperature reading in the system I can get is via logging into the OWB.

I've noticed the propane hot water heater blower kicking on quite often even with the boiler saying the water it is suppling is 165-185 deg F.... even when I don't have anyone showering...  its common usage like washing hands, doing a load of dishes, or using the high efficiency washer, or even nothing at all, that turn the propane heater on.

He put a bleeder at the top of an 8" loop above the SideARM that feeds the DHW tank.   I've bled it and it immediately shoots out water.  so I don't think it is air locked.

After doing some cursory research I suspect I'm getting very little recovery because his design has made a thermal lock (the 8" tall loop).... also he fed the hot water from the boiler into the bottom of the side arm (all the instructions I found said to put it at the top and return water was to come out of the bottom.