iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

chain for stihl 084

Started by 421Altered, November 19, 2021, 09:01:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

421Altered

I've recently got a Cannon Super bar for my rebuilt Stihl 084.  I need suggestions as to whether to get a full compliment chain or a full skip chain.  I'll be using it mostly for bucking large oak trees in storm cleanups.  The bar is 50" long, 063 gauge, in 404 pitch.  I prefer Stihl full chisel chain, so I just need to know whether full compliment or full skip would be better and why it would be better.   I know some of you guys on here have a lot of experience with these big saws.  Thanks!

Tacotodd

Full comp. That 084 has PLENTY of cc's to pull it. After all, "I" was taught that you went to skip when you needed a slightly longer bar than it might normally be able to utilize, but with a skip tooth it works because you don't have as many cutters slowing it down. I'm not good at giving a good explanation of this over a computer or such...but that's how I "occasionally" run a 32" unit on my 372 that normally wears a 28". 32, full skip. 28, full comp. 

I'm also referring to using 3/8, and that "might" make a difference.
Trying harder everyday.

Al_Smith

IMO run whatever you want to run .I only have one bar for my 084 which is a 42" Oregon .063 .404 .The saw doesn't care if it's skip or full .
Like every large saw it doesn't get used much .It's certainly not a "firewood "saw .
From my perspective this saw ,while very powerful really doesn't cut any better than the other large displacement older saws I own .As it is now it runs a 7 tooth rim but could run an 8 with no problems .Shelf queen that will likely last forever .

sawguy21

Skip was popular with longer bars because it did a better job of clearing chips from the kerf. A lot of people like the idea of fewer cutters to sharpen but they need to be done more frequently so it's a wash. With your saws power full comp will be more productive.