iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

D or Better Pine Question

Started by Solar_HoneyBee0, August 15, 2018, 11:21:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Solar_HoneyBee0

Good evening everyone,

I feel like i'm always on here asking questions, but i'm man enough to admit that when it comes to the lumber market I'm still learning my way. So, I appreciate everyone taking time out and answering my questions.

So, a few posts ago I had mentioned how I met a farmer with some Beech lumber. I ended up not going with the Beech because even though it was dirt cheap I couldn't find anyone that was interested in the lumber. The sheer amount he had I could never use myself. I ended up getting some nice soft maple and cherry. Anyways, this same farmer (lets call him farmer A) just called me up this evening and asked me if I was interested in buying some D or better Pine. Apparently a good friend of his (farmer B) had some cut recently and his project fell through and would like to unload it.

Well, here's where I would like some advice. I am going to look at it tomorrow afternoon, but am at a loss. What's a fair price for this lumber? I just can't find much information on it by me. Farmer A wasn't sure of the specifics, but said it's "D or better, kiln dried, S2S, 5/4 x random widths x 8' - 14' long." I have looked at the internet and tried to find prices, but the only price I found was in Ohio and that was around $5.00 per board foot. Does this sound about right? Also, what are the uses for this specific lumber? The internet just said "furniture and trim". Ideally, depending on the amount this person has I would like to keep some, but sell the rest. 

Someone on here once mentioned a monthly hardwood journal. Would this journal have a lot of this specific information i'm asking? I remember it was around $300/subscription. Honestly, if it would help give me an idea for price and use of the lumber its worth the price.