iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

My backhoe arrives today!

Started by LKasdorf, June 27, 2003, 08:50:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LKasdorf

I made a deal on a used Case 580B backhoe this week, and it will show up this afternoon!

It has the 4in1 bucket and extendahoe, and has a rebuilt engine and drivetrain, and has been frame-up restored. Looks like a new tractor.

I'm hoping thta 4in1 will prove useful for picking up small logs, but I think the real solutiuon is going to be making some forks for the front bucket.

I have access to a great deal of scrap steel and I'm a pretty good welder. Are there some plans/ideas for making detachable forks? I'd like to be able to pick up pallets as well as logs.

Bibbyman

I'd think there should be plenty of used fork sets for this model of Case.  Maybe worth looking for a pair before making a pair.  

Maybe even a used fork frame and forks of'n something else (if bought reasonable) could be adapted? I've seen whole industraial forklifts go for as low as $150 at auctions. I should have bought them all for the forks and mounting frames.

A little side story.  A friend of mine bought a new Case skidsteer.  He was looking around for a set of forks and got a lead on a pair.  The guy that had the forks had adapted them to use on his farm tractor to load big bails but they didn't work to good so he found/bought/made a stinger.  

They negotiated the price of the forks and he bought them.  In a remark,  my friend said he'd have to make the mounting plate to adapt them to his skidsteer.  The farmer said he had the original mounting plat some place and he could have it - if he thought he could use it.  And so he took it home also.  

Turned out,  the mounting plate was just what he needed.  He only had to remove a couple of "adapters" the farmer had welled onto the forks and re-assemble.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDE25 Super 25hp 3ph with Command Control and Accuset.
Sawing since '94

MrMoo

LK,