iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Processor question - Range Road?

Started by woodrat, May 22, 2022, 08:34:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

woodrat

Hey, all... 

I've been kicking around for a couple of years the idea of getting a small processor to help with my own firewood chores and then be able to sell some extra cords. 

I would be cutting mostly small and medium alder, fir, hemlock and maple off my own land here in SW WA, and also buying the occasional dump truck load of shorts and misc from local logging ops. And also probably hauling it up to my timber parcel in the Okanogan where it's small diameter fir and larch needing thinned. 

I only burn 3-4 cords a year at home, mild climate, and can imagine being able to sell another 2-3 dozen cords locally. Depending on how much time I spend at the cabin in the okanogan, not even a cord a year up there. But that parcel has thousands of cords of firewood that need to be removed. I would also be looking at a dump trailer and having the ability to deliver. 

I don't really have an unlimited budget here, and I keep coming across the range road processor in my searches which seems like the least expensive option I've seen that doesn't have me bucking the logs with a chainsaw myself. I would like to avoid bucking the logs myself if I'm going to spend money on a processor. 

I can tell just from pics that the Range Road model is not the burliest processor out there, but for the logs I have access to, it doesn't need to be. I'm not going to be shoving massive oak crotches through it, and my logs are mostly pretty straight and clean. 

Has anyone used one of these or otherwise have any useful feedback on it? 

Thanks!
Mark
1996 Woodmizer LT40HD
Yanmar 3220D and MF 253
Wallenstein FX 65 logging winch
Husky 61, 272XP, 372XP, 346XP, 353
Stihl 036, 046 with Lewis Winch
78 Chevy C30 dump truck, 80 Ford F350 4x4
35 ton firewood splitter
Eastonmade 22-28 splitter and conveyor
and ...lots of other junk...

47sawdust