iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

My first time processing lumber

Started by kristosig, October 03, 2020, 03:28:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kristosig

I started a thread here a while ago asking for advice on drying lumber. This is my first time felling trees, milling, drying etc. This thread documents my progress, mistakes and hopefully some successes as well.

kristosig

A few weeks ago, I visited a landowner "nearby" (about two hours away), picked out and bought six trees, still standing. Three ashes and three cherry trees. Marked them with green plastic.

kristosig

This morning, I started building a rack on which to stack the lumber.

Unfortunately, the rain was really pouring down, and my neighbours were still asleep, so not really a good time to start sawing.

Obviously, I need a bandsaw to dimension the lumber when it's finished. In case the customer wants different dimensions. So I bought a bandsaw. As good a time as any to unpack it.

low_48

You bought ash? I thought those were all give away these days as folks have to take them down anyway.

kristosig

The day I assigned for making everything ready did not go as planned. I have a half-completed lumberrack. I found out the hard way that it is really hard to saw straight with a bandsaw. Thus, I have no stickers.

I did get the chainsaw and timberjig, safety equipment etc from the post office. Haven't had time to open the boxes yet. Spent three hours getting the van I rented to transport the lumber.

Tomorrow is tree-felling and milling day. We'll see how that goes.

Now, sleep.

kristosig

So, breakfast and off we go to the forest...

YellowHammer

YellowHammerisms:

Take steps to save steps.

If it won't roll, its not a log; it's still a tree.  Sawmills cut logs, not trees.

Kiln drying wood: When the cookies are burned, they're burned, and you can't fix them.

Sawing is fun for the first couple million boards.

Be smarter than the sawdust

Old Greenhorn

I'll bet he is the photographer.