iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New member with long story already.

Started by kajtek1, March 18, 2010, 09:53:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kajtek1

Hi everyone.
I am new to milling and it is side job or hobby for me at the time. I am in process of building new structure in San Francisco Bay Area mountains. To make space for the structure I had to cut 120' tall redwood.
So having the very nice log I tried to mill it with Alaskan mill attached to Stihl chain saw.
Very fast I realized that milling whole log with this equipment would take me about 1/2 a year, so I bought old sawmill mounted on  trailer.
So far nobody can figure out what sawmill it is. It could be home made, but it does have industrial quality 2-speed electric feed. It is using Lucas double blades, so it could be very old Lucas.
Anyway, in my other life I was working as industrial mechanic, so fixing bearings and switches is not a problem for me.
After few try by errors control runs, I was able to mill about 1 ton of very nice 1x8" siding and than the disaster strike. Right in the center of 40"dia log, the saw hit steel. It cut 1/4" round stock couple of times with me not noticing it, than chunk of heavier steel destroy the blade. I start chiseling the steel from the log and was quite surprised to dig out 8" dia rope pulley. Picture below. So my guess is, that couple generations ago the residents at the property had a cloth rope hand between the house and the tree and they put heavy spikes into the young tree. Over the years the wood grew up around the spikes and attached pulley.
Now comes my real headache. I got new blade and can't make the mill working again.
Any change in wood consistency will kick the blade out of balance and make it dive.
Don't laugh if I don't use the right description. I was born Polish and this is new trade for me, so I don't know proper names for all the stuff I have.