iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

planner defect KP312

Started by philoufelin, January 10, 2024, 10:29:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

philoufelin

Hi All,

I'm new to using a plane (I have a Makita KP312) and I can't get the result I expected. I have some defects (see in the photo) and I'm trying to understand where they come from. The blades are freshly sharpened. I wonder if the defect doesn't come from the adjustment of the said blades. Regarding the defects, we can see in the photo that there are lines (drags) that continue throughout my beam. Additionally, the surface is not nice after the knots.

Any recommendation?

realzed

It appears to me that there are some nicks in the blades that are causing what I see as lines left after the planning..

Don P

Those tearouts are from the knives hitting steeply rising grain surrounding the knots, very common, go roll thru the piles at the building supply. And it sounds from the line comment that there are some knicks in the knives leaving lines down the board.