iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Started by woodyone.john, March 23, 2012, 07:32:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

woodyone.john

my 066 [sthil] takes about 20 =30 pulls to start if it has sat idle for a day or two. once started it goes really well and start first pull on idle start. what might be the problem. i am not a mechanic. cheers all john ;D
Saw millers are just carpenters with bigger bits of wood

beenthere

Before I'd pull on it that many times, I'd at least remove the spark plug first, put in a bit of fuel mixture, and then put the plug back. I'd expect it to start on just a few pulls then.

But for sure, I hope you find what needs to be done. This is a good place to learn how. :)
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Dan_Shade

i'm guessing you have a carburetor problem if it will start after it's warmed up.

What is your starting procedure?  Do you use the choke?

pulling an 066 thirty times is a good workout! 
Woodmizer LT40HDG25 / Stihl 066 alaskan
lots of dull bands and chains

There's a fine line between turning firewood into beautiful things and beautiful things into firewood.

woodyone.john

my right arm is 2x the size of my left :(

woodyone.john

yes starting on full choke and full tank.i guess its carby cause it delivers full power when running but i dont understand the intricasies on 2 stoke carburetion.

woodyone.john

once it coughs once it starts next pull.

Dan_Shade

do you shut the choke off as soon as it "coughs"?

my stihl saws will flood if I pull too many times with the choke on.
Woodmizer LT40HDG25 / Stihl 066 alaskan
lots of dull bands and chains

There's a fine line between turning firewood into beautiful things and beautiful things into firewood.

woodyone.john

yes cough on choke slip to half choke or cool start ,then one pull and away.

HolmenTree